Facebook photos used to deny coverage

According to a Canadian woman, Nathalie Blanchard, the longterm disability insurance she obtained for severe depression was terminated because she post photos of herself having fun on her Facebook profile.  One of them showed her having a good time at a Chippendales bar on her birthday.

Why would Ms. Blanchard post such photos when she was so depressed? 

“I’m sick and I don’t need everyone to know it – people who need to know I’m sick know and the other 500 (friends) I have on Facebook don’t need to know I’m suffering from depression.”

Sounds reasonable to me.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

